Is 10 pieces of fruit and veg a day even possible?

 

.

A raw vegan attempts to eat 10 pieces of fruit & veg a day.

Not much of a challenge you might say.  But, if you, like me, eat a frozen-chocolate-peanut butter-banana smoothie here and a data and nut smooshed energy ball there, it’s very easy to be over 1,000 calories up and nowhere near the old 5 a-day tally, let alone the revised 10 a-day tally.

On my non ‘milk shake’ and date ball days, which at one stage were surprisingly few, I don’t think I struggled so much with the quantity part; I was eating 800g (10x80g) of fruit and veg a day but I was definitely lacking in variety.  I could have a banana or pineapple mono day with no difficulty.  Greens didn’t really feature except for occasional salty samphire or a hand full of spinach in a frozen banana smoothie.  My diet overall was very fruit heavy.

So I made a change.  I’d consciously try to eat 10 different portions of fruit and veg a day.

Here’s how I fared one random day this spring.

 

   
   ?

 

I’m not sure how many different portions that is. But it looks upwards of 7.

But I shouldn’t despair. It’s not an all or nothing situation. According to researchers eating as few as two pieces of fruit or veg a day confers benefits but the more you eat the lower your risk of heart disease, stroke, cardiovascular disease, cancer and premature death.

So five pieces good, 10 pieces better!

Here’s what the risk reductions are compared to eating no fruit and veg:

 

10 a -day  5 a-day
Heart Disease 24% 14%
Stroke 33% 26%
Cardiovascular Disease 28% 19%
Cancer 13% 12%
Premature death 31% 24%

The study is published in the International Journal of Epidemiology.

Leave a Reply

