Book Review – The Fully Raw Diet

The Fully Raw Diet by Kristina Carrillo-Bucaram

I’m not the biggest fan of Kristina especially not after her black face sorry-if-you-were-offended non-apology.  And I’m glad she’s learning the ordinary lessons in life: check your passport before you book tickets and travel.  So heavens knows why I parted with £10 and bought this book!

Probably because I’m was looking for inspiration as I found myself creeping to the cooked side. I’ve had a boiled potato here and a bowl of quinoa there. So I thought hey here’s someone who says they’ve been raw for over 7 years let me see what I can learn.

This book is saturated with colour – you would expect anything less from always-smiling-always-cheery Kristina. (I won’t add any snaps because I don’t want to fall foul of any copyright rules).
Some of those colour combos (content aside) are extremely beautiful. My particular favourite is the inside backcover. Kristina in Khaki green coveralls, red Hunter wellies, white vest with tiniest strip of red complementing the boots all in the foreground of a verdant field of greens, could be chards. Styled of course but beautifully so!

But here’s the reality: I’ve had this book nearly a year and I haven’t made a single recipe.
I got close once. I almost made the ‘Cherry Tomato-Beet Top Dressing’ (p58) for a dinner party in March – one could say I actually made it given the ‘road map’ spiel by Kristina about using the ingredients as a guide.

So this joins a lot of books in my house which simply sit on my shelf and look pretty.

Why didn’t I engage with the book. I think it had as much to do with my head space as the content of the book. There is useful information in there but I think overall it’s aimed at the newbie.

There are some useful info charts Fruits and Veg and their water content p29. And I learnt a fact about Granny Smiths. There are some useful summary charts for suggested smoothies and a Vitamin source chart. The concepts of the dirty dozen and the clean fifteen are introduced.

I think I’m most likely to pick the book up to follow a cake recipe. That’s how I first discovered Kristina on YouTube, looking for raw cake recipes and finding her high fat, high calorie date based yumminess.

This is a conversion book; the first part is aimed at people taking their first steps in raw eating. It suggests a 21-day plan that outlines food, and exercise. I take issue with the lifestyle being promoted as a diet but I do understand the marketing paradigms that the book has to work in.

Overall I don’t regret the purchase there are some useful cake recipes in there and it is cheery to look at. And at the very least if it’s on your coffee table when your raw, vegan friends come round there will be no end of conversations; Kristina can be quite a controversial figure for some people.
Currently for sale on Amazon for £14.99 in paperback and £9.02 kindle edition.

 

fullyrawkristina
Leave a Reply

