Afro Hair – Wash Day – 6th November

 

The Products

 

img_4755

 

The Process

I decided to wash my hair standing up today and without a pre-poo.

So straight into the shower I go with my hair in about 6 loose plaits.

I fully saturate my hair with water and then go through each section with Neno Naturals shampoo before rinsing each section.

I leave the shower to apply the TRESemme naturals.  I undo each plait and replait with conditioner, detangling as I go.

I carry on with household business for about 2 hours before I rinse it out.

This time its head over the bath with a bowl and bucket.

T-shirt on the head for about 30minutes before undoing the plaits and working in the Manoi oil leave-in.

I left these to dry for a day and a half before re-moisturising with Beunique’s moisturising custard and banding my hair in about 19 sections.

 

My hair banded up with an old pair of tights

.

.

.

.

These (above) lasted a week, I moisturized the ends with Beunique Moisturising custard throughout the week.  I then undid them (below).

 

 Stretched Afro hair with banding after a week

.

.

.

.

I was planning to fluff up my hair and wear an afro but in the end I left it out (above) long enough to take these pictures before spraying with water and plaiting it up.

 Plaits after banding – 10 days post wash

.

.

.

.

I planned to undo the plaits last Tuesday (10 days post wash) and have a very big fluffy afro but life got in the way.  So now these (above) have been in for 10 days plus and it’s over 21 days since my last wash day.

Entirely not ideal but then neither is washing my hair without the time or inclination.  It is definitely better for its health to stay a bit drier and a bit dirtier.  So today I will un-plait and moisturise (below) and try to find time to wash this week.

 

 Plait take down after 10 days (l); Plaits re-moisturised with Neno Naturals leave-in (r)

.

.

.

.

 

One response to “Afro Hair – Wash Day – 6th November

  1. Pingback: Supporting Black Owned Hair and Beauty businesses | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

