Why are Neno Naturals products so cheap?

Queen of kinks, curls & coils box sets are super cheap at the moment on Amazon; £19.99 for 4 products.

A year ago they entered the market at £99.99!

I bought my box set for £49.99 the price I was willing to bear.  Middling to good results but not enough to justify a repurchase at that price.  When I reviewed the items, they were selling at £39.99 and I thought I was going to repurchase at that price but I didn’t.

So now they are marketed at such a low price it hardly begs the repurchase question at all.  But I decided to do some ingredient research before I 1-clicked on amazon.

Ideally I don’t like to use silicones.  These products are so effective at slipping and sliding that I just assumed they contained silicones.  So I did an old school look-up of all the ingredients.  The leave-in has 20 of them!  It reminds me of why I went water and Shea butter only a few years ago.

On the plus side you would recognise most of those 20 ingredients.  I looked up the others on https://www.ewg.org/

These are the ones you should recognise: Aqua, Glycerin, Jojoba seed oil, crambe abyssinica seed oil, Shea butter, Hydrolyzed soy, corn and wheat protein, citric acid and parfum.

And these are some of the ones you may not recognise:
Oleyl erucate                 conditioning agent, emollient
Cetearyl alchohol             emollient, emulsifier
Behentrimonium methoslfate    Conditioning Agent
Glyceryl caprylate            Emollient; Surfactant, Emulsifying Agent
Hydroxyethylcellulose   cellulose polymer; gelling and thickening agent
Ethylhexylglycerin           preservative and conditioning agent.
Limonene                      Scent agent
Phenoxyethanol               preservative
Citral                        scent agent, can be an irritant
Linalool                      Fragrance

The Conditioner shares many of the same ingredients as the leave-in (just in different concentrations).  Phew!  That’ll save me some work.

Here is the one additional chemical that I had to look up:

Cetylpyridinium chloride – a quaternary ammonium salt, with conditioning qualities

So not a silicone in sight!  And most of these chemicals have a high safety rating.  I’m looking to using my new box set already. 

One response to “Why are Neno Naturals products so cheap?

  1. Pingback: Product Review – Neno Natural’s Queen of Kinks, Curls and Coils | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

