Product Junkie, much!

The Products I Own

 

img_4359 img_4366 img_4368

Less products than the last check in 2013, just about, I think!

  • x3 L’oreal Clay Conditioners
  • x3 Tresemme Conditioners
  • x1 L’oreal Argan Conditioner
  • x1 L’oreal 5-in-1 conditioner
  • 1L Castor Oil
  • Herbal Essence Shampoo
  • Aloe Vera Juice
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Olive Oil
  • Mango Butter
  • Aloe Gel
  • Essential Oils
  • Shea Butter
  • Neno Naturals
  • Virgin Coconut Oil
  • Vitamin E Oil
  • x2 Beunique hair moisturizer
  • Argan Oil Shampoo
  • Monoi Oil Leave-in
  • Shea Moisture Deep Treatment
  • Shea Moisture Leave-in
  • Giovanni Leave-in
  • Home Made hair creams
  • Not shown 1kg clay

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Cost

All of that comes in at about £250.  I don’t think I want to know anymore accurately than that!

Erm, what can I say, I like buying hair products!  And I like buying ingredients and mixing my own!   I’d sure have a bit more shelf space if I learnt to run down a bottle before buying another one.  And I’d probably have wash day sorted if I had less combinations and permutations to choose from.

But in all self-justifying-seriousness I do think I need a range of products that do the same thing in a slightly different ways.  I mean you do actually need a silicone based and non-silicone based conditioner as standard.  Right! Then you factor in needing a cheap as dirt conditioner that you can slather on for pre-poo versus a quality conditioner you use when your hair is actually clean.  Right!  And likewise you need a sulphate and non-sulphate based shampoo. Then you need Apple Cider Vinegar, your natural no chemical alternative to shampoo when you’re feeling all child of the earth.

Then Leave-ins need to be bought.  And they too must come in the silicone and non-silicone based variety.  Who knows when you’re going to be prioritising the convenience of slippage over the virtue of limited chemicals.

Shea butter alone is not enough.  You must also have a couple of other butters on the shelf just in case you feel like seeing if there is anything that can come close to the performance of the wonder that is Shea butter.  Then you’ve got to buy the products to support your fellow black entrepreneurs (that’s how the Neno Naturals and Beunique got on my shelf).

And then there’s the time that Tresemme was on offer so you bought 3, the time that you forgot you already had coconut oil at home and bought some more.

So in response to the unasked question: No I can’t really explain why I have so many products.  It just happened.

Leave a Reply

