Product Review – Neno Natural’s Queen of Kinks, Curls and Coils

 

x2 “Soften Me Tangle-free!”Pre-poo Detangler & Nourishing Conditioner
x1 “Wash Me, Don’t Strip Me!” Moisturizing Sulfate-free Cream Shampoo
x1  “Protect Me Jealously!” Leave-In Conditioning Moisturizer

 

I bought these products more than half a year ago intoxicated by the hope and desire that they would be the Goldilocks products for me.

7 months later I still have them.

I have used the leave-in most often.  The shampoo least.  And the conditioner moderately

I bought them for £49.99.  But they had entered the market at £99.99 which I thought was a crazy price for an unknown brand without pedigree.  So I had waited and waited until first there was a 20% off coupon, then a 25% discount and then finally a 50% discount code.  Still pricey but worth a punt; because ultimately you can’t put a price on a product that reduces tears, tangles and time spent on wash day.  And I have the disposable income and I wanted to support a Black owned business.

I used the system as directed:

ConditionerSTEP 1
The pre poo is glossy and shiny with generously proportions of somethings slippery -I don’t think they’re silicones. It looks like it wants to add some slip to some hair.
But I didn’t like the effect in my hair. When my hair shrunk up with this product it resulted in tangles because the bottom half of my strands shrunk up considerably tighter than the top half.
Shampoo
STEP 2
The non- sulphate shampoo is glossy and shiny. It’s very gentle but does leave the hair clean.  This one’s a winner.
Conditioner
STEP 3
Now on clean hair this product behaves very differently on my hair.
It plasticizes the hair. Not a technical term but how I describe how the hair feels when it’s coated and feeling all strong. There is still high shrinkage, but plasticised the strands withstand the pulling apart
Leave-in
STEP 4
This is effective. I’d say the leave-in is my favourite product.  It has loads of slip and it smells very good (but you can still smell the lemon 3 days later which I don’t necessarily think is a good thing).
After rinsing out the deep conditioner on this goes and its strand separation all the way. It’s very quick to put it on and plait up your hair.  However, there is a fine balance between using too much and using enough.  If you get it wrong the hair does feel slightly sticky and clumped the next day.

 

I think these are good quality products.  The product is very thick and it comes in a squeeze tube so you’ll be wasting as little as possible when it gets down to the dregs.  And the offering of x2 conditions is a touch of authenticity.

Whilst the product quality is good I have something to say about the packaging.  It’s just so busy:

“Queen of Kinks, Curls & Coils by Neno Natural”

“your dry hair days are over”

“Protect me Jealously” Leave-in Conditioning Moisturizer

What’s the brand name? What’s the product name?  It’s very hard to tell.  And I didn’t need that fancy box.  I kept it long enough to photograph it and then it went in the bin.  Although I appreciate that if you were gifting this it would look very swish.  Perhaps there should be an option to purchase with or without the box.

I’ve already mentioned the price point so I’ll only go there again to say that at £12.50 for 250ml it’s more expensive than Shea Moisture.  The company do state the product is concentrated and can be watered down.  I would love for them to have also suggested a ratio.  I use the shampoo watered down and the conditioner (when I’m not using it as a deep treatment).  But I don’t know what proportions I use. When I mix too much I’ve found the shampoo keeps indefinitely whilst the conditioner will start to mould after about 10 days but I didn’t mix them into sterile containers.

Overall for the price (49.99) I think it’s worth a punt – if you have the disposable income but I think there are cheaper products out there (probably not black owned though) that might be more likely to work on any given hair.  I have low porosity 4c hair.

Usually the litmus test for  a product is whether you would repurchase.  I probably wouldn’t at £49.99 but the set is £39.99 at the moment on Amazon so I think I will.

Reusing the box

IMG_3160
3 responses to “Product Review – Neno Natural’s Queen of Kinks, Curls and Coils

  1. Pingback: Wash Day – Afro Hair – 24th September | Me and my funky afro·

  2. Pingback: Wash Day – Afro Hair – 29th October | Me and my funky afro·

  3. Pingback: Repurchased Afro Hair Products | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

