Cinnamon Banana Ice Cream

I liked eating ice-cream before I went raw and I like it even better now; I can eat so much more of it before belly rot sets in.

Typically I will use 3 or 4 bananas for a single portion (on grand eating days I will use 7 or 8).  The quantities of the other ingredients are determined by whim and fancy.  I consider ice-cream making an art and not a science so I don’t follow any precise ratios.  But I usually I add about

  • 5ml Honey
  • 5ml Maple Syrup
  • 8-10 Walnuts
  • 1 very generous sprinkle of Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of Vanilla Paste

The vanilla paste is really important it neutralises the taste of banana which means the ice-cream can take on the flavour that you want.

The walnuts improve the texture and if you save some for later (never happened) it helps the ice-cream to freeze more evenly and avoids the icicles.

The honey and maple syrup are there ’cause I like them.

And I never add any type of fluid; therein lies the way to a smoothie!

 IMG_3502  IMG_3505  IMG_3503
 IMG_3509  IMG_3511  IMG_3512

 

IMG_3515

Et Voila!

Leave a Reply

