A Raw Vegan Rants Again

She put my bananas in the fridge.

She put my bananas in the fridge!

She put my bananas in the fridge!

I have repeated this sentence often but it still makes no sense to me. I am still as confused today as I was 6 weeks ago when I returned to work following the long Easter weekend and found that my desk was bare.

The 14 ripening bananas that I had left on my desk 5 days before were gone.

The 14 bananas, that were going to form the entirety of my breakfast, lunch and mid-morning snack, were gone.

I moved over to the kitchen area and looked atop the fridge and on the side counter, no bananas. I opened up the cupboards under the counter, no bananas. I checked the bin, no bananas.

‘Has anyone seen a bag of bananas?’ I asked the office.

‘Oh, you mean the ones in the fridge.’ Someone replied casually.

‘No, I mean, the ones I left on my desk.’

But I was beginning to see where this might be headed.

I walked back over to the fridge. I squatted down and I opened the door. My face fell.

There they sat on the third shelf as yellow as they were on Thursday not a brown spot on them.

Not only was I foodless for the day but I wouldn’t ever be able to eat those bananas. I have never known a fruit or veg to recover and ripen well after such extensive cold exposure.

I was fuming.

WHO PUTS UNRIPE BANANAS IN THE FRIDGE?

More to the point, who puts other people’s unripe bananas in the fridge?

 IMG_2986  IMG_2994  20141117_130426
2 responses to “A Raw Vegan Rants Again

  1. Pingback: A raw vegan rants – 4 | Me and my funky afro·

  2. Pingback: A raw vegan rants – 6 | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

