Pineapple Pain

My tongue is ruined.

Those giant mutant pineapples have done it in.

I usually have such a high tolerance for the acid in a pineapple.  [I eat them daily, I can eat 3 or 4 before the bromelain gets busy and my tongue gets fizzy and sore.  And then I only need to push aside the plate for about 10 mins to rest my tongue before I can chow down on some more].

Today I opened proceedings with half a giant pineapple followed up a few hours later with a whole one.  I was only about 1/3 of the way in when I had to stop.

My tongue was on fire.  I tried to eat on (it’s the end of the week my food options are limited) but I just couldn’t.  The pain/reward ratio didn’t make any sense.

It was a good 4 hours later before I could get another forkful into my mouth and even then I knew my tongue wasn’t entirely ready but I did it anyway.

And now I’m in proper pain.  It’s uncomfortable to eat anything.  I managed an ice cold smoothie (apple, spinach, carrot and a hint of courgette) but my salad with a mustard and balsamic dressing (unwise choices) was torture and now I’m only good for soft, smooth, neutral-on-the-tongue bananas.

IMG_2996

 

 

Leave a Reply

