Raw on a budget

Yesterday I was feeling slightly pleased with myself.  I’d come in under budget for the previous week and I’d fed myself that day for £6.70.  But then I Google searched ‘raw on a budget’ and I read about this Melanie woman who was feeding herself and 2 teenage sons on $3.33 per day.  Granted she was eating some cooked vegan food but it still made my £50 weekly budget look piss easy.  So I wondered, how low can I go?

I really don’t know.  Last week was the first time in months that I’d actually constrained myself with a budget.  Before then I regularly shopped in Planet Organic where I could pick up houmous, nut ice-cream, and a raw sandwich and not get much change from a twenty pound note.

But now I’m curious and I cann’t resist the idea of some competitive budgeting.  I’m re-thinking my purchasing strategy.

In the meanwhile this is what I ate today and what it cost

  • 3 Granny Smiths
  • 2 Bananas
  • 1 Pineapple
  • Courgette Noodle Salad
  • 300g carrots, 1 cauliflower, 2 courgettes, 1.5 bell peppers, 3 spring onions, leaf mix sauce: 2250g cherry tomatoes, 70g rocket
  • 5 Banana Ice Cream
  • Date Bake: 60g Walnuts, 200g frozen berries, 120g dates, pinch cinnamon,
  • More Courgette Noodle Salad sprinkled with wheatgrass, spirulina, ground flax seeds, pumpkin seeds and Gogi berries

total cost: approx £5.59

20141110_200341 (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

