A Raw Vegan Rant

Rant 3 – WHY THE RIDICULOUS MARK UP

The one thing I hate most about being a raw vegan is that I can never just walk out of the door in the morning.

There are always several calculations to be made:  When did I last eat, when am I likely to need to eat again, where will I be, and will there be access to food I can eat

Often to avoid this logistical quagmire I carry around a great big canvas bag full of food.

The big ugly canvas bag

IMG_2749

The food in the big ugly canvas bag

 

but sometimes I don’t want to carry around food because

a) It’s an ugly bag and it rarely complements my outfit.

b) It’s heavy.  2500-3000 calories in raw vegetables and fruit will kill your shoulder.

And c) I sometimes simply resent  that I’m a minority in society and my needs aren’t catered for.

 

But I regret every bag-less stance I’ve taken:  my wallet empties and my belly doesn’t get full.

Here are some raw-food-on-the-go-price shockers:

IMG_2742

£5.99 for two sandwiches!

 

£6.50 for a bag of museli

£6.50 for a bag of museli

IMG_2084

raw ice cream £9.99 and £2.30

IMG_2091

£1.50 for 30g

4 crackers £5.  wow!

4 crackers £5. wow!

 

99p each for the bars £2.30 for the 'sweets' 50p for the raisins

99p each for the bars
£2.30 for the ‘sweets’
50p for the raisins

I contend that the best value food on the go is from Sainbury’s; 800g of pineapples for £3.

20140626_163943

 

2 responses to “A Raw Vegan Rant

  1. Pingback: A raw vegan rants – 4 | Me and my funky afro·

  2. Pingback: A raw vegan rants – 6 | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

