120 days raw

I went raw for vanity.  I didn’t care about the ethics of animal husbandry.  I cared about the fact that I looked awful: I was overweight, on the less forgiving side of 35 and I was about to be layed off again from running (a long-standing ligament problem).

I couldn’t afford a slide into misery or a wander into the crap eating territory that had accompanied my last period of serious injury in 2011 and 2012 (it had been too long a walk back to sanity).  So I decided to go raw.

I knew I looked and felt better when I ate lots of fruit and veg.  I was raw back in 2005 [2 out of 7 days and for 2/3 of my meals the rest of the time].  Back then I was lean and vital and I could run a 20min 5k on a steady effort.

So I set a date (1st September 2013) and then I stopped eating cooked food.  It was absolutely no big deal.  I didn’t do much cooking anyway (I was a tuna-out-of-a-can type of person), and when I wasn’t having a feed on the over-processed, 2-for-1, chocolate and crisp offers from Tesco, I was a fruit and veg whore. I got through at least 10-15 pieces of fruit and veg a day.

My greatest challenge has been living in a non Raw world and the constant planning and preparation that becomes vital if you don’t want to be caught out on the hop with limited options.

The planning and preparation is constant, regimented and it can be a bind – if I want homous for the weekend then I absolutely have to start sprouting on Tuesday – but on the plus side I’m now using all the once dormant accessories that came with my food processor.

I’ve experienced the consequences of a lazy Sunday afternoon not spent chopping, juicing and blending for the week to come.  I’ve either fasted at work (not often) or I’ve chosen to make compromised food choices.  I’m not as raw as I could be and I’m not as vegan as I could be

  • I eat nuts.  In fact I eat too many nuts and there is no more a moreish nut than the cashew.
  • I eat sun-dried tomatoes and sometimes they are soaked in oil which I know hasn’t been cold pressed (the product is far too cheap)
  • I eat dried fruit.  Often.
  • I’ve drunk ‘gently’ pasteurized smoothies and I have at least 10 packets of ready chopped pineapples a week.  And when desperate (and not desperate) I eat nak’d bars

But I don’t get cravings for cooked food.

I do however get cravings for ice-cream and related junk.  Temptation has knocked on my door many times.  I’ve answered twice to frozen yoghurt and blueberry muffins.  It was pleasant enough during the moment of consumption but then I got belly rot and extensive bloating for a few days (the offer of a seat on the tube is a story for another post).

I wish I could say that the experience of eating the muffins and yoghurt was prohibitive and too high a price to pay but I actually thought ‘I could take this pain and discomfort for the occasional bite of the forbidden fruit’.

However I did chase down the wagon and I climbed back on.  I’m still on it and I’m writing about the journey.

IMG_2480

6 responses to “120 days raw

  1. Craving ice-cream? Try freezing your bananas (once they are fully ripe and have freckles) and process them in a blender or food processor. You can add fresh or frozen strawberries or blueberries to the bananas as well (or any fruit for that matter). I promise, it will knock your socks off. Then, mix some raw cacao and coconut water and drizzle over the delicious frozen banana/fruit combo. 🙂

    • Hey Sanja, thanks for reading my blog and thanks for the comment. I now have frozen bananas and strawberries in the freezer at the ready. First I just have to work up the energy to wash the food processor. I wonder if I can do it in the nutri-bullet?

      • Nutri-bullet should work just fine. Maybe add the fruit in small batches so that you don’t over-work the machine? Let me know how it turned out 🙂

      • Well, don’t beat yourself up too much, it’s not easy getting going. Rather than thinking how you’re “falling short” of what you’d like to be doing, think instead of how many more raw fruits and vegetables you’re already eating on a daily basis. Always focus on the positive as positive begets positive. You’ve already overcome the hardest hurdle, and that’s giving this lifestyle a fair shake to begin with. So keep up the good work, and if you have any questions feel free to ask (via message or email at rawfruitbasedliving@gmail.com). Make sure you’re getting plenty of calories from fruit, that can really help, and I second the banana ice cream idea. You can also keep some frozen fruit like mangoes in your freezer in case you need them, they’re not bad blended up.

Leave a Reply

