Homemade Flaxseed Gel

Generally, if I can’t pronounce the items on an ingredient’s list, or I’m Googling to figure out what the f**k they are, or if the count of ingredients starts approaching the high teens and twenties. I stay well clear.

So I like this gel.  It has 2 ingredients.  It’s easy to make (1/4 cup of flaxseed and 2 cups of water heated until it starts to simmer vigorously and then strained) and it gives a light soft hold.  Although it is a bugger to sieve when you heat it too long which is what I did on this occasion.

The flaxseed I used 

IMG_1485

The gel I made

IMG_1504

I added a few drops of Basil, Rosemary and Lavender (for smell) and vitamin E oil (to preserve) and then its good in the fridge for about 3 weeks (until it goes cloudy).

One response to “Homemade Flaxseed Gel

  1. Pingback: Edible Hair Products | Me and my funky afro·

Leave a Reply

